Move, the former Citroëngebouw Zuid, has been renovated and extended into a high-quality multifunctional building complex. The modernist building by architect Jan Wils has been redeveloped into a building housing high-quality office space, retail space and catering provision.
The Citroëngebouw was designed by Jan Wils in 1931 as a garage, warehouse, offices and showroom for Citroën. Wils had earlier designed the adjacent stadium for the 1928 Olympic Games, and in 1959 he designed another building for Citroën across the road, the so-called Noordgebouw. Both buildings, the square in between and the stadium together constitute a unique urban ensemble. The existing Citroëngebouw Zuid is typified by a blocked structure, white façades and rounded corners. During the renovation, the original fine detailing of the façades has been restored. After extensive research, it was decided to re-treat the masonry façades with silicate mineral paint. The vertical accents in the modernist composition by Wils have been restored in the lettering of the new brand name MOVE. The interior was designed in collaboration with QuA Associates and Bronsvoort Blaak Architects.